Nebraska Cornhuskers

Nebraska is known as the "winningest" college football program in the country, having compiled a record of 310-56-5 (84%) over the last 30 years of the century, best in Division I Football, according to CNN and Sports Illustrated. Big Red N Nebraka (under Coaches Bob Devaney, Dr. Tom Osborn, and Frank Solich) holds many other records including home victories, consecutive bowl appearances (35 years in a row through the 2002 season!), consecutive home sellouts (every game since 1962), academic All-Americans, Outland Trophy winners, Big 8/Big 12 championships, graduation rates, dozens of rushing records, and more. Johnny Rogers, Mike Rozier, and Eric Crouch have been Heisman Trophy winners from Nebraska. On September 25, 1999, Nebraska became the first and only Division I College Football team to win 100 games in two consecutive decades! On October 17, 1999, Nebraska extended their record consecutive appearance streak in the AP Top 25 college football poll to 300 weeks, eventually reaching a record of 384 consecutive weekly top-20 rankings until mid-2002 (starting in Oct. 5, 1981). The Huskers were in 522 of the 525 AP weekly polls from 1964 until mid-2002!

Six Huskers were named to the College Football All-Century Team. From 1994 to 2001, Nebraska and Miami each won 80% of their away games -- no other team came close. But they do great at home also! Nebraska has sold out every home game since the start of the 1962 season (Bob Devaney's first). Through September 2004, that was an incredible NCAA-record 262 consecutive sellouts at Memorial Stadium, 89 more than the #2 team (Notre Dame with 173). The Huskers are 233-29 during the 262 sellouts. The mark includes a 38-20 record against ranked teams. As Head Coach, Dr. Tom Osborne posted a 255-49-3 career record at Nebraska from 1973 to 1997, and is the only collegiate football coach to retire as a reigning national champion. He led Nebraska to three national championships in the 1990s (1994, 1995 and 1997) and retired with the nation’s best winning percentage at .836. A new era at Husker Nation starts with the 2004 season when Coach Bill Callahan takes over as the new Head Coach of the Cornhuskers. Read more about the Huskers at Huskerfootball, Huskerpedia, Joe's Husker Page (great links!!), or

The remaining information is from a September 2004 article


Huskers Own An Unprecedented Winning Tradition.

Nebraska, the nation's third-winningest program all time (fourth by percentage), boasts a 781-311-40 record in 1,132 games (.708) in 114 years of football. In the last 35 years, NU is tops, posting a record of 347-70-5 for an .828 winning percentage (422 games), an average of nearly 10 wins per year.

NU has won 10-or-more games 24 times since 1962, has gone undefeated and untied through the regular season seven times, played in 13 national title games (for at least one of the teams) and won the championship five times. Since the first Nebraska season in 1890, Husker teams have won 11 or more games 12 times, including seven of the last 11 years. NU has won 12 or more games seven times, and 13 games three times (1971, 1994 and 1997).

Nebraska (702), Michigan (705), Alabama (728) and Notre Dame (736) were the only four programs to win 700 games in the 1900s. NU became the first Division I team to win 100 or more games in consecutive decades, ranking first in the 1980s (103-20-0, .837) and second in the 1990s (108-16-1, .890) and posted a nation's best 309-56-5 record in the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s.


Huskers To Bid for NCAA-Record 36th Consecutive Bowl Appearance in 2004 Campaign.

Nebraska's visit to the 2003 Mastercard Alamo Bowl marked the Huskers� 35th consecutive bowl game, the nation's longest current streak and an all-time NCAA record. Michigan's streak of consecutive bowl appearances reached 29 last year, the second-longest streak in NCAA history. Nebraska's 42 overall bowl appearances is tied for fourth best with USC, trailing Alabama's 51, Tennessee's 44, and Texas' 43.

Nebraska played the first of its 42 bowls in the Rose Bowl, when No. 7 Nebraska lost to No. 2 Stanford, 21-13, following the 1940 season. NU's 35 consecutive bowls began with a 45-6 win over Georgia in the 1969 Sun Bowl. The Huskers are 21-21 all-time in bowl games.


NU Owns 42 Consecutive Winning Regular Seasons.

The Huskers' 10-3 record in 2003 marked Nebraska's 42nd consecutive winning regular season and its 41st winning season in the last 42 years. Nebraska saw its streak of 40 consecutive winning seasons end with a 7-7 mark in 2002. Nebraska's streak of 40 consecutive winning seasons fell two years short of Notre Dame's NCAA-record run of 42 straight winning campaigns from 1889 to 1932.

The Huskers boast 42 consecutive winning regular seasons and 42 straight years with a .500 or better finish. Nebraska's 42 straight non-losing seasons is tied for second all-time in NCAA Division I-A, with Notre Dame's 42 (1889-1932), trailing only Penn State's 49 (1939-87). Since Nebraska's 42-year .500-or-better streak began, the Huskers have averaged nearly 10 wins per season with a 415-85-5 record (.827).


Nine Wins a Regular Occurrence for Huskers.

From 1961 through 2001, Nebraska never lost more than one home game per season! Over the course of 34 seasons, Nebraska won five National Championships (eight total national titles in school history) and won 9 or more games each year of those 34 years. The next closest teams are ...

1. Nebraska, 34 seasons (1968-2001)
2. Florida St., 14 seasons (1987-2000)
3. Alabama, 11 seasons (1970-1981)
4. U. of Miami, 10 seasons (1985-1994)

Nebraska's amazing run of nine-win seasons came to an end at 33 consecutive years in 2002. The streak is even more remarkable when considering that Texas and Miami now share the lead for most consecutive nine-win seasons with six apiece.

Texas' current run of six consecutive nine-win seasons is the longest in its proud history. Miami reeled off 10 straight nine-win campaigns spanning the 1980s and 1990s and Florida State had a 14-year streak that ended in 2000.

However, among a group of other long-time powers, including Notre Dame, Penn State, Oklahoma, Michigan and Ohio State, the longest streak of nine-win seasons is eight years by both Oklahoma and Ohio State.

Nebraska has won nine-or-more games in 39 of the past 42 seasons. Only back-to-back 6-4 records in 1967 and 1968, and a 7-7 mark in 2002, have fallen short of the nine-win plateau.